What wonderful singing we heard in Belfast Cathedral on Wednesday May 16, when 10 local primary schools competed for the title of St Anne Trust Belfast Primary School Choir of the Year.

Adjudicator Dr Joe McKee had the unenviable task of choosing the top choirs from a truly impressive field and in the end it was Victoria College Preparatory Department which was awarded first place.

A close second was the choir of Holy Cross Boys, Primary School, and in third place was Currie Primary School. St Anne Primary School was highly commended.

While Dr McKee retired to consider his verdict, Cathedral musicians David Stevens (Master of the Choristers), Dr Ed Jones (Assistant Organist) and Catherine Harper (Head of Vocal Tuition) led the combined choirs, teachers, parents and anyone else who was there in a sing-a-long of a special arrangement by Sacin Gunga of ‘Who Knows.’

Before the presentations, the children heard from Michelle McCutcheon of Abbey Insurance and Councillor Sonia Copeland, Deputy Lord Mayor of Belfast City Council, key sponsors of the event.

Announcing his results, Dr McKee encouraged the children to keep singing. “With singing and music you can go on forever,” he said.

Among the special guests who attended were Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant for Belfast, Mrs Fionnuala Jay-O’Boyle and Mr Richard Jay.

The competition ended with the singing of a blessing by the Dean of Belfast, the Very Rev Stephen Forde.

Our picture shows Victoria College Prep Department pupils, conductor Melissa Murray and accompanist Audrey Gillian, with the first prize, along with adjudicator Dr Joe McKee, Michelle McCutcheon from Abbey Insurance and Councllor Sonia Copeland, Deputy Lord Mayor, Belfast City Council.

For lots more photographs, visit our PHOTO ALBUM.