from St Anne's

New Connor Diocesan Readers commissioned

Two new Lay Readers were commissioned for Connor Diocese at a service in Belfast Cathedral on Sunday January 27.

They were Mrs Gillian McCaughey, a Warden and member of the Board of Belfast Cathedral, and Dr Brian Bennet, Lambeg Parish.

The Service was a celebration of the Ministry of Diocesan Lay Readers, and the Choir of St Polycarp’s Parish, Finaghy, and its Director Mr Simon Neill, joined the Belfast Cathedral Choir for this special occasion.

Friends and family of the two new Readers, along with visitors from Lambeg and the wider Lisburn area, were welcomed to St Anne’s Cathedral by the Dean, the Very Rev Stephen Forde.

Mrs McCaughey and Dr Bennet read the first two Lessons They were commissioned as Diocesan Readers by the Bishop of Connor’s Commissary, the Ven George Davison, Archdeacon of Belfast.

The Archdeacon said: “Thank you to all Diocesan Readers for all that you do. Without you all, the ministry of our church would be the poorer.”

Both new Readers were accompanied at the service by their incumbents, Mrs McGaughey by Dean Forde, and Dr Bennet by the Rev Eddie Coulter. They were presented for commissioning by the Rev Kevin Graham, Connor Warden of Readers.

Dean Forde preached at the service, which was followed by refreshments. More photos from the service can be seen on the Connor Diocesan website.